Delivering to customers later out of spite

letticesandwich

I'm a relatively new driver, 6 months in. But this situation has to happen and want to know of similar occurrences and feedback.

Situation one. Business on second floor, only entrance is a side door up a drive that can not be navigated. Awning is too low. A cigar shop so they get humidors and other large trade packages. I tried to get there everyday around 1. Brought all the stuff up the stairs. Most everyone would drop the stuff and run as the receiver is a fat idiot. One day I did not have them, it was put on a commercial route. At pickups I asked if they got a delivery. The guy says, "yeah, that driver knows how to do your job right, he got here at 11." I laugh, but fat idiot is serious. I had made this dude a priority to get delivered before 1 on a heavy industrial route, bring the stuff upstairs, and he seriously says that. From that point on he got his stuff around 4 and I left it at the door. After all, I don't know how to do my job right anyway.

Situation two. An apartment complex. Delivery to the office. I knock, hear someone talking. Knock again and again still hearing people talking. The office property manager opens the door shaking mad. "Don't you know I'm on the phone! I'm closed!" The office closes at 4:30. Its 4:35. She signs the board in a huff and I get out of there. A recent delivery attempt in the complex. Customer wants it left at the office. At the office the women says I'm not signing, I'm going on vacation and the office won't be open. Sorry customer, NI1. At this point, out of spite, I will purposely avoid that area till after 4:30 just not to deal with her or deliver her stuff. Let her pick it up.

Any similar stories?

I'm a relatively new driver, 6 months in. But this situation has to happen and want to know of similar occurrences and feedback.