New driver...got sent home

Project Pat

Hello. I am a new driver and started this week. However, I walked in this morning on my 3rd day and got sent home because there aren't enough supervisors to train me.

Is this normal? And does anyone know if I still get paid? Something just doesn't seem right.

burrheadd

KING Of GIFS
Hello. I am a new driver and started this week. However, I walked in this morning on my 3rd day and got sent home because there aren't enough supervisors to train me.

Is this normal? And does anyone know if I still get paid? Something just doesn't seem right.

absolutley normal get used to it

most of the time it’s worse
Just so ya know

quad decade guy

No work, no pay. Seem right? Oh friend....just wait.

Ackerlin

No you don't still get paid, not how that works son. You have to file for you're guaranteed hours, then you actually gotta work that booty in order to get the pay, no matter what they have you doing. BUT considering it's your 3rd day, you don't have that option since you aren't in the union as a full timer yet. So yea they can do whatever they want with you til you make it.

P.S is 22.4 like the most least respected position in the company anymore? I swear the janitors get more respect considering I've seen the fresh meat being used to dump trash bins. Hell, I've seen them pull an entire intergrad class to do QC work yesterday.

SorryLazyPOS

Big Kahuna Burger
Hey if I were you I would just enjoy the days off. Don’t worry they’ll give you work. Same thing happened to me. I enjoyed the days off.

Staydryitsraining

Damn bro... little harsh. The guy showed up ready to work and was sent home because of UPS being unprepared. I think it's a valid question and actually reasonable. Some contracts even have show up pay.